Do you Care who Reads your Books?

Do you care if the person reading the audio book out loud to you is a celebrity? Audible, the “the largest producer and seller of digital audio books”, thinks you do. According to an article in the LA Times Books section (love!), Audible is commissioning big names like “Dustin Hoffman, Kate Winslet, Colin Firth, Nicole Kidman, Samuel L. Jackson” to record audio books of their choice. Audible is paying these celebrities “unusually high fees for their services” (unusually high for voice actors?). It is unclear if these higher fees will translate into higher prices for Audible consumers. (Although many of Audible customers are subscribers who pay a fixed fee per month to buy “credits” that can be exchanged at a 1-to-1 rate for books, some books do require more credits than others.)

What do you think? Would you pay more to have a book read to you by Dustin Hoffman than Stephen Hoye?

PS. My first poll! Woohoo!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you Care who Reads your Books?

  1. Bookish Hobbit says:

    I would have to say that it doesn’t really matter to me who reads a book to me as long as they are good. On that note, there are some celebrities whom I have heard narrate audiobooks that I would most certainly be interested in hearing more from them. However, I don’t think that would translate as meaning I would be willing to pay more to hear them necessarily… although I think a great deal of that would depend on the book in question and whether or not I loved it.

  2. teasandbooks says:

    I guess the CEO of Audible is not listening to the 5 of us (myself included) who are resoundingly voting no. He’ll have an awesome time denouncing us as nay-sayers when the celebrity books exceed beyond expectations!

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

