Books I’m Reading

I’m gently reading David Weinberger’s Everything is Miscellaneous, gently because it lies halfway between “books I’m reading” and “books I’m not“. It’s a book that’s required reading for a class, but it’s doubtlessly a general interest, popular book. What a strange thing this is for me to see.

During my undergrad years, I majored in mathematics. There was a very clear line between textbooks for class and books for everything else. Now my readings come from traditional, hardcover, large sized textbooks, but they also come from books like Everything is Miscellaneous and even popular, non-book resources like The New York Times and The Atlantic Magazine. Strange but true.

I’m not sure how I feel about this development. It is not the case that I find all of my readings now chatty & entertaining, just like I didn’t find reading math texts dreadful and dry. The quality of the readings varies; some assigned readings are dry but convey a lot of information; some are dry for the sake of dryness (and possibly academic credibility); some are fun and enlightening; still others are just fun. Such is the vagrancy of reading.

This entry was posted in Books, Library school and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

