Canine Acknowledgment & Brotherly Dedication

This is  possibly a very sweet, but definitely oddest acknowledgement I have seen. The last line in the foreword of Appleby’s biography on Henry II reads,

Finally, I should be little better than a churl if I were not to express my thanks to my dog Fritz, who patiently stayed at home alone day after day while I was consorting with strange dogs at the Library of Congress.

Then again, Appleby’s acknowledgement is at least cheerfully odd. I don’t think the same can be said of Larry M. Bartels’ dedication in Unequal Democracy

For my brother, Thomas Raymond Bartels,
who lived poor and died young

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Canine Acknowledgment & Brotherly Dedication

  1. Another canine acknowledgement: Richard Beeman in his Plain, Honest Men: The Making of the American Constitution penned these words, “Finally, I owe a mixed debt of gratitude to my golden retriever puppy, Abigail Adams. During the final year of writing this book, I have spent nearly every waking hour at my computer. At nine-minute intervals, Abby would saunter up to my desk with a Frisbee in her mouth and begin to whine. At which point we would go outside, in all kinds of weather, and play. This ritual unquestionably slowed my progress on the book, but it improved my Frisbee toss slightly and her catching skills to championship levels. As it helped clear my foggy brain in the bargain. As much as I would like to hold Abby responsible for any errors of act or interpretation in this book, I’m afraid that I will have to assume that burden.”

  2. And now the prize for funniest acknowledgement goes to Sadakat Kadri whose last words in Heaven on Earth: A Journey Through Shari’a Law from the Deserts of Ancient Arabia to the Streets of the Modern Muslim World were “Finally, I ought to mention my niece Natasha Haider and my nephew Kiyan Haider. They contributed nothing to the text, and seemed almost indifferent at times to its subject matter. They want to see their names in print, however. It is not worth my while to disregard their wishes”.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

