Speedier Writing

For the fellow blog writers out there, how much writing do you do off your blog? If it’s not an insubstantial amount (nothing like a double negative to hedge one’ s words), do you find that since you’ve begun blogging, your off-blog writing has changed in some ways?

As somebody who dreads writing because she finds it to be such a long, laborious undertaking, I may just be seeking false solace in saying this, but I think that since I’ve started this blog in late 2010, I’ve gotten just an itsy, bitsy faster in my word-on-the-page production process. Assuming that this is true, my new-found speed may be for all the wrong reasons. I may have gotten more cavalier about the final product; the natural length of my writing may have shrunk; wheezy, breezy construction may have become the norm.

Or not. I can’t tell. But if I ever find myself writing a thesis using the WordPress word editor, following WordPress’s janky grammar suggestions, and “self-publishing” the thing as a series of posts on teasandbooks.wordpress.com, I will surely lament how blogging has ruined me . . . by writing a blog post about it.

Speedy she goes

(Photo from Simon’s photography.)

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Speedier Writing

  1. I tend to write much more non-blog writing vs blog-writing. The blog kind of intimidates me because it’s so public, and I want to try and stay somewhat anonymous, but my paranoia and self-consciousness makes me worry that people I know might find it one day…
    I think your blog posts have such an effortless, desirable, ‘bloggy’ sort of voice. For example, the length of this blog post was perfect (mine tend to drag on and on…I know there’s not a soul in the world that would read a whole one, but I can’t seem to stop myself from shutting up once I start – as you can probably tell from this way, way too long comment).

    Anyways, I did have a blog once before this many years ago, during high school. I do believe it affected my ‘real world’ writing. Blog writing adds an element of snappiness to your work, or as you aptly put it, “wheezy, breezy, construction.” I don’t think it’s a bad thing. I think it helps us refine our ideas and speak more straightforward.

    For someone like me, it would be a very good thing if the “cavalierness” or general blog writing could affect me. I don’t feel very cavalier about writing at all. I need to have more fun with it. And I need to learn how to shut up! Omg, sorry about the reallyyy long response. I’ll try better next time, I promise.

    • teasandbooks says:

      Hi Lav!

      Good to hear from you! There may be places for which brevity is important, but my blog comment section isn’t one of them. In the (ironic?) words of Kurt Cobain, “come as you are”.

  2. teasandbooks says:

    On a marginally related note, my favorite blog to read so far is Scholarly Communications at Duke (http://blogs.library.duke.edu/scholcomm/). Kevin Smith, its author, is a lawyer and when blogging for the public, has a clear, incisive style of writing. I also find the topics on which he blogs — intellectual property within the context of libraries — to be immensely interesting. May one day I be able to speak with his expertise and gift of (lawyerly and well paid) gab!

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

