Thoughts on Biographies

I have a penchant for biographies. I don’t know if this is tantamount to a confession for being a people watcher, gossip monger, or consummate busybody. I do know Eleanor Roosevelt’s quote on great & small minds, and I don’t think my indulgence in biographies is standing me in her good stead.

Yet, it is with the intellectual biographies, the plane where biographies come closest to Roosevelt’s ideas and great minds, that I feel the greatest gap between “the thing that is” to “the thing that is told”, in this case in biographical sketches. Justly or not, I get the same feeling when I hear musicians being interviewed — the feeling is that I’m not getting the best of what the musicians have to offer, no matter how great the interview. What is best, what is most creative, what consumes the most of their talent lies in their music; the rest is just dressing.

How close does a reflection come to the real thing?

In the same vein, to read about Adam Smith, even in classics such as Robert L. Heilbroner’s The Worldly Philosophers, is not to read Smith’s The Wealth of Nations nor to appreciate Smith’s pure ideas. If we  cleave to the ideal that we judge ideas on their intrinsic values and not on whose heads they sprang from, then why would we care that Smith was a life-long bachelor who lived with his mother? How much value-added are in the biographical details? Are the biographical tidbits presented to help us better understand the ideas, in which case wouldn’t an annotated edition or a commentary on the original work do more efficiently? Or are the life stories there to serve as sops & inducements so we don’t lose interest? If the answer is “both”, then what is the decomposition between the two? Are we inescapably  to understand some of the personal details as “dumbing down” of the big, important ideas so that the small minds are not totally abandoned to their smallness?

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on Biographies

  1. Esa says:

    I have just dipped my toe into the pool that is biography and memoir. I tend lean heavily towards writers as I am always fascinated by the talk of craft, and if I’ve read something by an author; his or her thoughts on the specific time the novel was written, is always thought provoking.

    • teasandbooks says:

      Have you read Stephen King’s “A Memoir of the Craft”? I hear that it’s supposed to be awesome, even discounting for the fact that it’s written by a mega author.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

