Looking Ahead

Considering how much I dislike being in between books, I thought I would be clever and bypass the purgatorial uncertainty by doing some advance planning.

The plan is this: before I finish with my current book, I’m going to peruse a bunch of potential next-reads. From this perusal, one — or at least not too many — will be settled upon as the next ‘books I’m reading’. Should the selection process become too difficult, I can always return to the soothing oasis that is my current book and continue with the search another time. Sounds good?

The execution has turned out a bit trickier than the plan suggests. I’m currently on the last chapter of James Boyle’s The Public Domain, and from my little “looking ahead” plan, I got William Patry‘s How to Fix Copyright, Adam Freedman’s The Party of the First Part: The Curious World of Legalese, and Lawrence Krauss’s A Universe from Nothing lined up. Although 3 potential next-reads are not the 1 definite next-read that I had hoped the plan would produce, the case is even more hopeless than it now sounds. I’ve realized that although I have these 3 books as my first-tier selections, I’m still not sure that I’ll read one of the three. So I also have a second-tier set of selections: Noah Feldman’s Divided by God: America’s Church-State Problem, Branko Milanovic’s The Haves and the Have-Nots: A Brief and Idiosyncratic History of Global Inequality, Martha Nussbaum’s Why Democracy Needs the Humanities, Tim Groseclose’s How Liberal Media Bias Distorts the American Mind, and a bunch more books on copyright that is perennially on my reading list. And even after that exhausting list, I can’t say for certain that my fickle mood won’t drive me to look for something else altogether.

Hopeless really.

(Image from the Getty Museum.)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

