How to Solve the Berne Problem

(Manually) reblogged from Scholarly Communications at Duke

My first post about the Berkeley orphan works conference focused on what we had done to create the massive orphan works problem we now face, and what mistakes we should avoid in the future as we try to solve it.  Now I get to be a little more positive and discuss some of the suggestions I heard (all of the PowerPoints are now available) for solving the problem that seem quite workable.  The overarching theme, I think, is keep it simple; rely on small legislative changes or solutions that can be implemented at the trial court level, rather than on big ideas.

See here for the rest of Kevin Smith’s post discussing the various solutions that participants at the Berkeley Law Orphan Works & Mass Digitization conference proposed to alleviate the orphan works/Berne Convention “no formalities” problem.

In the first part of this post, Kevin mentions “the 230 copyright geeks” who attended the Berkeley conference. I’m green with envy! I wanted to attend the conference! I begged for travel money from the Library Preservation Department where I work (and where we do plenty of digitization and are currently debating whether we can digitize in-copyright serials, some of which are surely orphaned). Alas, the department had no money, and I did not go. But hey, now that all the presentations from the conference are online, I can at least go through those and read the white papers prepared for this meeting and vicariously feel like I was there, right?

That still leaves me greener than green with envy that there are people (at least 230 such souls!) who get to wear the label of “copyright geeks”. I want to be a copyright geek! Alas, I think it will be a while until I can apply for such a badge. In the meanwhile, I’ll be the “green copyright geek wannabe”. Like the Green Lantern, but less snappy.

This entry was posted in Books, Libraries, Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

