On Forced Rereading

I will be attempting to write a 25-page paper in one fell sweep in about two weeks or so. Hubris, you say. What could a person possibly have to say in 25 pages that is not a full blown piece of original research? Hubris, I chime in with you. Nonetheless, if I want to pass the class, I will have to attempt the paper and tempt the gods in the process.

I have an idea that I will write on the intersection of copyright law and perhaps the Bill of Rights. Copyright and its tension with the First Amendment protection for free speech is nothing new to the literature. In fact, Neil Netanel wrote an excellent book on the subject. I know this because I read the book. I can’t tell you much more about it because I have to re-read to the book.

Rereading is one of those activities I don’t do enough. Eh, in fact, at all. Rereading, like reading philosophy, is one of those things I feel I should do but don’t bring myself to actual doing. Unlike reading philosophy, I will enjoy very much being under the compulsion of my class assignment to read Netanel’s Copyright’s Paradox. I may take this opportunity to read again Litman’s Digital Copyright, Mazzone’s Copyfraud, and Goldstein’s Copyright’s Highway also.

What do you think? You think I’ll be able to do it? To return to old favorites? To resist the calls of the sirens’ new songs in the form of Banner’s American Property: A History of How, Why, and What We Own, Green’s Thirteen Ways to Steal a Bicycle: Theft Law in the Information Age, and so many, many others?

This entry was posted in Books, Library school and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Forced Rereading

  1. This is really horrifying. I don’t remember anything from Netanel’s book! I thought that even if I’m not able to recall his arguments on my own, upon reading the book again, I would recognize the arguments as they come up. Nope.

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

