Following Up on My Own Posts

Is this weird? (And if you ask that, you know you’re fishing for an answer.) I make little comments on my own posts to update them from time to time. For example, if I write about an on-going lawsuit and new developments take place, then I go back to the original post and leave a comment briefly stating what the new information is.

This act of following up on my own posts resembles much more a matter of record keeping than public engagement. After all, the overwhelming visits I get to the blog are to the newest post the day it is published. So who would read those comments that are updates to old posts but me? Weird indeed.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Following Up on My Own Posts

  1. I think this is my way of keeping content fresh for that mystical reader who will stumble upon my blog years down the road from when I wrote it. It’s my way of saying to this yet-to-materialize reader, “you see, I still care. Although I wrote this post a long time ago, I still keep it in mind, and every time I run into something that’s relevant to the post, I freshen up the post with the new information. So you needn’t feel that you’re reading something ancient written by someone just as ancient.”

    Weird, and silly!

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

