Missing a Sale

Regret is heavy. You can’t put it down. You end up lugging it around even when your shoulders get tired and your back droops and hunches. And it is a special kind of regret when you miss out on a sale.

I could've had it for $4.55!

I could’ve had it for $4.55!

You know what I’m talking about. You see a book that you like for an awesome price, a price that represents a huge drop from the book’s usual price. You jump out of your seat to do a victory lap around your small apartment in celebration of your having stumbled onto this great find. Moments later, you get back to your seat, slightly flushed and out of breath, ready to buy, buy, buy. But then greed sets in. “Hey” you think to yourself, “maybe this book will drop even more in price! Why don’t I just wait? Just another 50 cents drop, and I’ll buy it for sure. Another 50 cents, and the book will be in my golden, guilt-free zone of buying. I’ll just wait another day. Patience is a virtue, right? Won’t I be rewarded by the gods who keep tabs of this patience-virtue connection?”

Of course what happens the next day is that the book jumps back up to its $14.99 price. And now my back hurts from lugging so much weight around.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Missing a Sale

  1. A.M.B. says:

    This happens to me all the time!

I think I'm getting addicted to comments. Please feed the addict & leave a reply.

